Colorado Considering a $15,000 Fine for Police Who Violate Recording Rights


In Colorado, lawmakers are considering a fine for police officers who attempt to stop people from filming, or who attempt to destroy or delete the recording after the fact. A $15,000 fine is being considered for officers who attempt to violate a person’s rights in this way.

The bill is currently filed as HB 15-1290.

“Primarily, it came up as a result of the number of news reports we’ve been seeing about police officers telling people, ‘Give me your camera,’ or taking the data away, and that is unacceptable conduct,” Rep. Joe Salazar, one of the supporters of the bill, recently told reporters.

“It takes a very special person to be a police officer. We want to honor them, but at the same time, we have a few bad apples who need to be aware that their conduct now has major, major consequences,” he added.



One thought on “Colorado Considering a $15,000 Fine for Police Who Violate Recording Rights”

  • Howdy! This blog post could not be written much better! Looking
    through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He constantly kept talking about this. I’ll send this article to
    him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.